Resource: A
From 251 reviews
Game: ?
From 0 reviews

Dragonlance Chronicles, Volumes 1-3


Publisher Description

This awesome 3-book set includes Dragons of Autumn Twilight, Dragons of Winter Night and Dragons of Spring Dawning, by Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman.

Dragonlance is a shared universe of popular fantasy novels. The Hickmans conceived Dragonlance while driving in their car on the way to a job interview. At TSR Tracy met Margaret Weis, his future writing partner, and they gathered a group of associates to play the Dungeons & Dragons role-playing game. The adventures during that game inspired a series of gaming modules, a series of novels, licensed products such as board games, and lead miniature figures.

In 1984, TSR published the first Dragonlance novel, Dragons of Autumn Twilight. It began the Chronicles trilogy, a core element of the Dragonlance world.

The fictional Dragonlance world of Krynn contains numerous characters, an extensive timeline, and a detailed geography. The history of Krynn consists of five ages. The novels are primarily set in the fourth age, The Age of Despair. Since February 2009, the fifth age, the Age of Mortals, has been used. The Heroes of the Lance, created by Weis and Hickman, are the popular protagonists of the Chronicles trilogy. Along with the world of the Forgotten Realms, Dragonlance is one of the most popular shared worlds in fiction.

The majority of the novels take place in the various regions of Ansalon, a small continent, though some have taken place on the continent of Taladas, located northeast of Ansalon. The world's major gods are the High God and his children: good Paladine, neutral Gilean, and evil Takhisis. The gods are opposed by Chaos, who seeks to destroy Krynn. Depending on the time period, the evil chromatic and the good metallic dragons are rare or plentiful. Humans are Krynn's most common humanoid race, but elves, dwarves, kender, gnomes, and minotaurs occupy the world as well. .


A Beloved Classic From Dungeons and Dragons Early Days [ edit ]

In 1983 Tracy Hickman, an early writer of Dungeons and Dragons adventures, and his wife Laura had an idea for a series of adventures tied to a series of novels.  A writer was brought in and Margaret Weis (another employee of D&D's publisher, TSR) was assigned to edit it.  However, the writer soon left, and Weis and Hickman co-wrote the novel themselves.

The resulting three novel series, known as The Chronicles, was an incredible success.  It spawned a series of sequels, both from Hickman & Weiss and from other authors, resulting in over a hundred different Dragonlance books!  The first book of the series even had an animated movie made, with voices from Kiefer Sutherland and Lucy Lawless.

There's a reason why so many gamers and non-gamers have fallen in love with this trilogy of books. While of course everyone's tastes will vary, The Dragonlance Chronicles trilogy is likely to appeal to any fan of epic fantasy fiction, and especially one who enjoys Dungeons and Dragons.

A Great Read for Any Gamer, but Especially Dungeons and Dragons Fans [ edit ]

The three-volume set has been released in multiple editions due to its popularity, but this is is the newest, and offers three separate books.  Either version makes a great gift.

The Same Books, New Art [ edit ]

The older "Collector's Edition" offers the same three novel as one large text, with alternate cover art.